Larsen Law PLLC

It's important to observe the traffic safety laws in every state that you are driving in. Not doing so means that you could receive a DUI charge or could result in a motor accident.

This blog will provide a brief overview on the main laws in Tennessee to be aware of when it comes to driving safety.

Don't drive over the speed limit - especially in construction zones

Tennessee has a very strict policy on speeding in construction zones, and doing so will mean that you will be subject to a $250 fine as a minimum. It is the law that drivers adhere to the speed limit at all times.

Don't use your phone while driving

Texting or using your phone while driving -- also known as distracted driving -- has been known to lead to decreased awareness of the road and as a result, the occurrence of fatal accidents. For this reason, texting while driving in Tennessee is illegal.

Do not drive while over the legal alcohol limit

The legal limit of blood alcohol concentration (BAC) is 0.08 percent or lower. If a test determines that you have a higher percentage than this, you will be presumed to be guilty of driving under the influence. First time offenders could face at least a $350 fine, and 48 hours jail time. They will also be charged for any towing or storage of vehicles that may be necessary.

Always wear a seat belt

It is illegal in the state of Tennessee to drive or have a passenger without a fully functioning seat belt.

If you or a loved one are facing charges for drunk driving, it is important to begin building a defense as soon as possible. An attorney experienced in defending against such charges can be very beneficial on your side.

Source: TN.gov, "Top ten traffic safety laws from TN visitors," accessed Aug. 4, 2017

No Comments

Leave a comment
Comment Information
Email Us For a Response

Dedicated To Protecting Your Future.
Contact Me For A Consultation.

Bold labels are required.

Contact Information
disclaimer.

The use of the Internet or this form for communication with the firm or any individual member of the firm does not establish an attorney-client relationship. Confidential or time-sensitive information should not be sent through this form.

close

Privacy Policy

Larsen Law PLLC
342 Main Street
Suite 202
Franklin, TN 37064

Phone: 615-656-8179
Phone: 615-567-3072
Fax: 615-296-4411
Map & Directions

Map
Back To Top