Larsen Law PLLC

You know that a first-offense DUI is not treated the same as a fourth-offense in Tennessee, but do you know exactly how the potential penalties increase? If you're facing charges at any level, this is critical information. You deserve a fair trial and a fair sentence, if convicted, so knowing exactly what the law states helps you know how to proceed.

First Offense

For a first offense, you could pay a fine between $350 and $1,500. You may need to go to an alcohol treatment program, and you will lose your license for one year.

Second Offense

For a second offense, the fine increases. It could be anywhere between $600 and $3,500. The license revocation may also double to two years.

Third Offense

The real change happens with a third conviction. Your license could be taken for six to 10 years. Your fine will be between $1,100 and $10,000.

Fourth Offense

Things get even stiffer for a fourth offense. Your fine could be between $3,000 and $15,000. Your license will be taken away for eight years.

It's also important to note that there are some potential ramifications that apply to all of these categories. For any offense, you may be told to go to the alcohol and drug treatment program. You may also have to serve jail time, which can vary from case to case.

Again, you have a right to a fair trial. With thousands of dollars potentially on the line, along with severe license restrictions and jail time, it's absolutely critical that you know all of your rights when accused of driving under the influence.

Source: Intoxalock, "Tennessee ignition interlock device laws & requirements," accessed Nov. 10, 2017

No Comments

Leave a comment
Comment Information
Email Us For a Response

Dedicated To Protecting Your Future.
Contact Me For A Consultation.

Bold labels are required.

Contact Information
disclaimer.

The use of the Internet or this form for communication with the firm or any individual member of the firm does not establish an attorney-client relationship. Confidential or time-sensitive information should not be sent through this form.

close

Privacy Policy

Larsen Law PLLC
342 Main Street
Suite 202
Franklin, TN 37064

Phone: 615-656-8179
Phone: 615-567-3072
Fax: 615-296-4411
Map & Directions

Map
Back To Top