A woman in Tennessee was involved in a DUI crash in 2002. Now, 15 years later, the Tennessee Department of Corrections has said that she's been released from prison.
Craft beer culture is as strong now as it's ever been, from one side of the United States to the other. Beer isn't just cheap lagers anymore. There are many varieties, many flavors and a whole subculture of people who are interested in trying out as many different types as they can.
Last week we featured a blog entry seeking to answer the question, can you be tested for marijuana during a DUI stop? The quick answer to the question is that there's not enough data to provide a solid answer. Every state, including Tennessee, has blood alcohol content limits beyond which impairment is legally presumed. The same can't be said, however, for marijuana. The science isn't well established.
What does it take to declare something a trend? We doubt that anyone can claim that there is a clear consensus on an answer. It's not a bad idea to keep your eye out for the possible indicators, however, especially if the movement could have legal consequences for you.
An arrest for drunk driving can bring serious penalties for a Tennessee driver, particularly if he or she is currently facing the loss of driving privileges. It is terribly inconvenient to lose the ability to drive yourself to work, school or transport your children, and you need your license back as soon as possible.
For those who plan to get behind the wheel during spring break in Tennessee, it's typically a good idea to first become acquainted with state traffic laws, especially those pertaining to DUI. This doesn't imply you or your friends intend to drive drunk while celebrating your time off from school; however, unexpected situations often develop where college students and partying are at hand. So, it's typically a good idea to do a little research ahead of time because it might help avoid complications if a problematic situation arises.
A semi driver is facing charges for possession of methamphetamine and driving under the influence. The 56-year-old man, who is from Southhaven, Mississippi, was arrested by the Tennessee Highway Patrol.
You may have heard people say that you have a right to refuse a breath test or a blood test when pulled over on suspicion of drunk driving. In one sense, that is technically true. You can refuse to take the test. However, Tennessee does use implied consent laws. This means that you can still be arrested under these laws for refusing to cooperate with police.
You're pulled over by the police, who believe you may be intoxicated. The kicker is that you haven't had anything to drink. Instead, you've just been taking prescription medications. The police arrest you and say that you can still get a DUI because you were under the influence of a drug while driving -- even if that drug wasn't alcohol.
While many students travel somewhere exotic for spring break, many stay at college during their time away from study. Whether on sandy beaches or still in The Volunteer State, you want to make sure that you're staying safe and following the law. A drunk driving charge can cost serious money, but also jail time, loss of license and further punishments from your school.