Franklin Domestic Violence Defense Attorney

Serving Nashville with Competent & Caring Criminal Defense Representation

Domestic violence is a very serious matter. If convicted, you face the possibility of time behind bars along with steep fines and a loss of other rights.

A domestic violence charge can be detrimental to your reputation, social relationships, and possibly even your career because a social stigma is associated with domestic violence that is not present in other criminal charges.

Reach out to our Franklin domestic violence defense lawyer online or at (615) 933-2454 for strong legal assistance today. Free consultation!

At Larsen Law PLLC, we know that criminal charges rarely tell the whole story. However, as with all charges, having a strong advocate on your side can make all the difference. Our Franklin domestic violence defense attorney has represented clients through hundreds of tough legal ordeals. Whatever the situation, restoring and representing your rights remain as our top priorities.

Not Guilty
1st Degree Premeditated Murder & Conspiracy to Commit 1st Degree Premeditated Murder - Not Guilty after 4 days of trial, and 5 hours of jury deliberations.

What Makes Us Different?

Experienced. Trusted. Respected.
  • Relentless Advocate for All Clients
  • Trial Tested. Proven Track Record.
    Sometimes going to trial is necessary. Attorney Eric Larsen is not afraid to do so if it's in the best interest of the client.
  • Respected Amongst His Peers

    Eric’s ability to maneuver through both trial advocacy and negotiations have earned him the respect of prosecutors, law enforcement, and the judiciary, which often leads to results that exceed client expectations.

Is Domestic Violence a Felony in TN?

In Tennessee, domestic assault is a Class A Misdemeanor. The maximum jail sentence for a Class A Misdemeanor is 11 months 29 days in jail and a $200 fine. A person who is convicted of domestic assault will also be required to surrender any firearms they own. They will also be no longer eligible for a firearms permit.

Can Domestic Assault Charges be Dropped in Tennessee?

In Tennessee, domestic assault can not be dropped by an alleged victim in a domestic violence case does not have the power to drop the charges. The decision to charge rests with the police, but the responsibility to prosecute is within the sole discretion of the District Attorney's Office. Most prosecutors will not dismiss a charge of domestic assault at arraignment, even if the alleged victim asks for this to be done. If you are charged with domestic assault, violation of a restraining order, or any other type of domestic violence, you should retain an experienced Franklin criminal defense attorney immediately.

Is Domestic Violence a Misdemeanor in Tennessee?

Is Domestic Violence a Misdemeanor in Tennessee?

Domestic violence is usually a misdemeanor. Tennessee. Sometimes it truly is a situation where one party fears the other, but frequently it occurs when the “victim” does not want to press charges but the other person is charged anyway, is arrested, and must go to court. Tennessee police take these cases very seriously and they aren’t going to just tell the two people to calm down after a domestic call. Once they get to your door, someone’s going to jail. If you or someone close to you has been charged with this offense, you probably have many questions about what happens next.

Advocacy in Times of Need

In Tennessee, domestic violence is a type of assault and charges are typically brought up when there are allegations of spousal abuse or child neglect. Most of the time, domestic violence is considered a class A misdemeanor, which means defendants can face jail time of nearly a year and a fine ranging in the thousands of dollars.

Protecting Your Rights

In many cases, domestic violence can result in an order of protection being issued by the court. Because domestic violence charges arise in highly charged environments, the accused’s significant other may try to keep the accused away from their family. This may even occur because one spouse is angry at another over divorce or child custody and support proceedings.

Protective Order Restrictions

This protective order can restrict your freedom, including your right:

  • To own or possess a firearm
  • To contact the alleged victim, whether by phone, email, mail, or physical approach

Violating these orders can have serious civil and criminal consequences. Larsen Law PLLC provides strong advocacy on behalf of clients who feel these orders were issued incorrectly as well as for those who have been accused of violating the orders. Our firm is committed to helping you achieve the best possible legal outcome through skilled and compassionate service.

Call us at (615) 933-2454 or contact us online for a free consultation if you are facing an investigation into or charges relating to domestic violence.

Larsen Law PLLC Larsen Law PLLC
It is vividly apparent that he cares deeply about both his job and his clients.

Start Your Defense

Schedule a Free Case Review
  • Please enter your first name.
  • Please enter your last name.
  • Please enter your phone number.
    This isn't a valid phone number.
  • Please enter your email address.
    This isn't a valid email address.
  • Please make a selection.
  • Please enter a message.
Ready to get Started?