Skip to Content
Empowering Your Story, Protecting Your Future
Top
EXPERIENCED. TRUSTED. RESPECTED. DUI Personalized Service Focused on Results

Franklin DUI Attorney

Aggressive Defense Against DUI Charges in Tennessee

Driving under the influence of alcohol (DUI) is lawless in Tennessee. A DUI offense can result in severe penalties if convicted, including fines, jail time, and license suspension.

It is essential for those charged with a DUI offense to contact an attorney as soon as possible. An experienced lawyer can review your case and guide you on how best to proceed. Understanding the laws regarding DUI cases is key to ensuring the best possible outcome.

What is Tennessee’s Implied Consent Law? 

As a licensed driver, you become subject to the implied consent rule, meaning you agree to submit to a chemical test when asked to do so by law enforcement. If your blood alcohol content measures .08 percent or higher, you are considered legally drunk.

At Larsen Law PLLC, our Franklin DUI defense attorney is highly knowledgeable in the laws and science surrounding this charge. He can use his familiarity and experience to help you achieve optimum results. Call today to get help. 

Are you facing a DUI charge in Tennessee? Call Larsen Law PLLC today at (615) 933-2454 or contact us online to schedule a meeting with our DUI lawyer in Franklin!

  • Case Dismissed Order of Protection
  • Case Dismissed Assault
  • Not Guilty DUI
    Were Your Arrested For a DUI? Did you take a field sobriety or bac test?

    These tests can be used during your case.

    What are the Penalties for DUI in  Tennessee?

    Even DUI first offenders may receive jail time when convicted in Tennessee. While you may feel nothing can be done about your DUI case since the state holds all the evidence, a capable attorney may be able to find flaws, weaknesses, or other errors in the legal, scientific, and technical aspects of your arrest.

    The penalties for a first offense include the following:

    • A MINIMUM of 48 hours in jail up to a year
    • 11 months and 29 days of probation
    • A fine ranging from $350 to $1,500 
    • A license suspension of a year
    • Participation in and completion of an alcohol or drug program

    Those convicted with a BAC measuring .20 or higher will face a minimum of 7 days of jail time. Jail time, fines, and other court-ordered penalties increase with subsequent convictions.

    Tennessee also has a zero-tolerance policy for those under 21. If your BAC measures .02 percent or higher, you will face DUI charges punishable by losing your driving privileges for a year, a $250 fine, and possible community service.

    How Long Does a DUI Stay on Your Record in Tennessee?

    A DUI in Tennessee will stay on your record for the rest of your life. Repeated DUI offenses must be done within ten years to be considered a repeat DUI offense. A DUI conviction on your record can result in difficulties obtaining a job and cause car insurance complications and other issues.

    How Can I Restore My Right to Drive After a DUI in Tennessee?

    An arrest for drunk driving can bring severe penalties for a Tennessee driver, particularly if he or she is currently facing the loss of driving privileges. It is inconvenient to lose the ability to drive yourself to work, school, or transport your children, and you need your license back as soon as possible.

    Once the appropriate amount of time has passed, it is possible to have your license reinstated. Reinstatement of your driving privileges does not happen automatically on a specific date but instead comes after you have met the appropriate requirements and taken the necessary steps.
    Requirements for reinstatement

    Most people know that drunk driving charges come with certain fines and penalties. To some drivers, however, it is surprising to learn that even having their license reinstated also comes with disadvantages. The amount a person will have to pay depends on the nature of his or her case. Possible fines include:

    • Reinstatement after implied consent violation:
    1. $100 reinstatement fee
    2. Possible $50 fee for filing SR-22
    3. Possible $75 fee for failure to surrender license
    4. You May need to pay fees for applying for a valid license
    • Drug-Free Youth Act Offenses
    1. $20 reinstatement fee
    2. Possible $75 fee for failure to surrender license
    3. Fees for applying for a valid license
    • Other DUI offenses
    1. $100 reinstatement fee
    2. $3 certification fee
    3. Possible $75 fee for failure to surrender license
    4. Fees required to apply for a valid license
    5. Possible $50 fee for filing SR-22

    License suspension is a penalty that can impact everything from your ability to take care of your children to have a successful career. If you lost your license after a drunk driving arrest, you would be wise to learn how to protect your rights and get your license back as soon as possible.

    • Relentless Advocate for All Clients
      Dedicated to being a relentless advocate for all clients, ensuring their voices are heard and their rights are protected with unwavering commitment and passion.
    • Trial Tested. Proven Track Record.
      Sometimes going to trial is necessary. Attorney Eric Larsen is not afraid to do so if it's in the best interest of the client.
    • Respected Amongst His Peers

      Eric’s ability to maneuver through both trial advocacy and negotiations have earned him the respect of prosecutors, law enforcement, and the judiciary, which often leads to results that exceed client expectations.

    • Genuine & Personalized Legal Service
      Attorney Eric Larsen works one-on-one with his clients in an effort to better understand their situation and goals.

    How to Beat a DUI Charge in Tennessee

    In Tennessee, it is possible to defend against a DUI charge and have the charges reduced or dismissed. Although it may be difficult, with the help of an experienced Franklin DUI attorney, one can build a successful defense against such charges. Depending on the circumstances surrounding the arrest and incident, it may be possible to argue that one or more elements of the case are invalid or incomplete. Additionally, attorneys may be able to challenge evidence presented during the trial – including breathalyzer results – as unreliable or inaccurate. Lastly, if an individual’s rights were violated during their arrest or detention (i.e. improper police procedure), they may have grounds for dismissal of their case. It is important to understand that defending against DUI charges requires experienced legal representation and knowledge of Tennessee-specific laws and regulations. 

    Underage DUI

    Tennessee has a specific law to prohibit underage drivers from operating a motor vehicle with essentially any amount of alcohol in their system.  Anyone under the age of 21 who is operating a motor vehicle with a BAC of .02% or higher can be charged with Underage DUI. This means impairment is not even required. An Underage DUI conviction results in an automatic one-year loss of driving privileges with NO eligibility for a restricted license. Even for a young person, the loss of a driver’s license can be crippling.  The inability to drive to school or work can leave a young person stranded. At Larsen Law PLLC, we’ve successfully handled several of these cases and found creative solutions to avoid the loss of driving privileges.  

    DUI By Consent

    Imagine you and your friend are out at the bar. At the end of the night, you realize you’ve had too much to drink so you let your friend take the keys and drive your car. If your friend is impaired and gets pulled over, YOU could be charged with DUI by consent or allowance. The law allows you to be held criminally responsible for the conduct of another if you consent or aid in any way to the criminal behavior of another person and that includes DUI. Believe it or not, we see these cases all the time and at Larsen Law PLLC, we’ve been successful in getting many of these cases dismissed.  

    Contact Our DUI Lawyer Today 

    A DUI can happen to anyone, and chances are you know someone who's experienced a DUI arrest. In Tennessee, even a first offense DUI conviction carries harsh penalties. That's why it's critical to hire a lawyer who doesn't just take DUI cases, but someone who prioritized DUI representation through yearly education and training. 

    DUI Attorney Eric M. Larsen has handled hundreds of DUI cases and with a lot of success. He attended training in Atlanta to become NHTSA certified in Field Sobriety Tests - the same exact training that law enforcement takes. Every year for the past decade he's attended the Tennessee Association of Criminal Defense Lawyers DUI Conference to remain up to date on the latest changes in the law and to learn new legal tactics to defend his clients. He is also an active member of the DUI Defense Lawyers Association. DUIDLA is a national organization with a focus on learning the science behind blood and breath tests. 

    Facing a DUI can be a stressful experience. A conviction for DUI carries harsh penalties that compound exponentially. In addition to jail time, your license is at stake and for many people, that puts their jobs at stake. You should not go through the legal process without the counsel and guidance of a respected Franklin DUI defense attorney. At Larsen Law PLLC, we have helped hundreds of clients through the crisis of DUI charges with many successful outcomes.

    Contact Larsen Law PLLC today to schedule a FREE consultation with our DUI attorney in Franklin!

    Legal Awards

      Start Your Defense

      Schedule a Free Case Review
      • Please enter your first name.
      • Please enter your last name.
      • Please enter your phone number.
        This isn't a valid phone number.
      • Please enter your email address.
        This isn't a valid email address.
      • Please make a selection.
      • Please enter a message.
      • By submitting, you agree to be contacted about your request & other information using automated technology. Message frequency varies. Msg & data rates may apply. Text STOP to cancel. Acceptable Use Policy